I Detest Online Software Activation

December 30, 2008

OK, this rant is a little off topic.

Now I understand that software vendors work hard to reduce the possibility of theft of their software.

But on-line activation is a pain in the ass.

On-line activation is when the software you purchase will not work, until it phones home to the vendors servers to validate the licence information.

Why do I detest it?

When an employee leaves my organization, I have to have the software de-activated before reassigning the licence to the new employee. That is time consuming.

And in this case – I had an employees computer physically die.

This means a telephone call to get the licence transfer.

Like everything in business, time is money. If it takes an hour of my time getting that changed. That is an hour of lost productivity.

You can subscribe to this blog by clicking the RSS icon on the Home Page!

Leave a Reply

