My Amusing Transit Strike Incident

January 8, 2009

For the last month, the city of Ottawa has been in the throes of a transit strike.

The strike has been a popular blogging topic throughout the city.

I confess, I have not been impacted by the strike directly because;

a) I cannot use the bus system

b) I don’t work in the downtown core

My commute is actually a fairly rural route that loops around south of the city.

I like it – no buses, and little traffic.

The Amusing Incident

I had agreed to drive a friends college age kids to school this morning. This would force me to plow through a good section of the city to get them there for an 8 AM class.

With the strike, plus a good snow storm yesterday, and the excessive media coverage of traffic snarls, we decided to plan for at least 2 hours getting to the college.

Ergo, up at 04:45 to pick up the kids for 05:45.

Then;

We sailed through the city without the slightest slow down and I had the poor kids dropped off well before 7 AM.

Maybe it was luck, or maybe Ottawans have readily adapted.

Whichever it was – we could have had at least another half hour of sleep!

5 Responses to “My Amusing Transit Strike Incident”


  1. Good work! Thank you!
    I always wanted to write in my blog something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?
    Of course, I will add backlink?

    Regards, Timur Alhimenkov

  2. elliotross Says:

    Let me copy one comment from the above link;

    quote; Steve in Kanata
    According to the Directorate of Pay Policy and Development, a Corporal in the Armed Forces who is highly trained, gets deployed 6 months of the year, works 24/7, gets shot at and periodically gets killed in Afghanistan makes less than an Ottawa city bus driver. I am not advocating more pay for the military, but a reality check for bus drivers who just drive a bus. Get real.

  3. elliotross Says:

    Thanks for that link Julien, there was a few ‘complaints’ on CBC radio this morning as well.

    Canada has not been hit as hard as the US, but the majority of sectors shed jobs again in Dec (about .3 I think I heard)

    For a union to strike on this kind of issue – in this type of timing seems self defeating to me.

    You don’t try to feast – while everyone else is in famine


  4. That doesn’t sound too amusing! But it’s great that Ottawa residents have adapted. It looks like there are way less downtown traffic jams now compared to when the strike just started.

    So there was a vote yesterday and the union members rejected the city offer. It didn’t take very long for comments to start pouring in.
    http://ottawa.ctv.ca/servlet/an/local/CTVNews/20090109/OTT_transit_vote_090109/20090109?hub=Ottawa

    I wonder how many ex-OC Transpo users will keep relying on them for transportation once the strike is over. I also wonder how much longer the strike will be allowed to go on. Finally, I really wonder if the strike will do any good to the drivers without the support from the public and from their users.


Leave a Reply

