Know Your Communication Style

February 17, 2009

And don’t be afraid to ask for it!

I had the wonderful opportunity to listen to conversation between a manager and a consultant.

OK, I lied! Boy did I lie.

It was not wonderful, it was horrible, it was ghastly, it was downright painful.

The manager is a hard nosed, give me the key figures, give me the next steps, give the recommendation type individual.

The consultant was a long winded, build up the story and paint the picture type individual.

As much talk as there was – there was no communication.

There are entire volumes written about our individual learning and communications styles, and communication skills – so I won’t go into that here.

But as a business technology manager, I consider it my duty to know the communication styles of the individuals I deal with.

As a small to medium busines owner or manager, you should know what your preferred style is.

And if your IT staff or provider is not providing it – You are fully within your right to ask for it!

Do you?

 

Communication is Critical

Communication is Critical

You can subscribe to this blog by clicking the RSS icon on the Home Page!

Photo Credit: teaeff

Leave a Reply

