I Really Doubt It

March 29, 2009

I wanted to point out a quote by Alan Weiss on this post titled; Random Consulting Thoughts

…which is that doubt is common and necessary. We should all be willing to doubt what the client tells us, doubt what we hear, and doubt that an off-the-shelf or generic response will work. 

As a SMB Business Technology Manager, that can be a tough one.

Too often tech  people come to drink their own Kool-Aid and belive that they already have the answer, and can make the sun come up pink tomorrow.

I am guessing that it is a defensive thing. Trying not to seem unsure about the service we provide.

But I think that there should always be doubt. And I believe that I should be communicating those doubts to the best of my ability.

Case in point

We are looking at an extensive upgrade of our Internet connection. The old one is too slow and has outlived its usefullness.

I am asked constantly if it will make all of our speed issues go away.

I have to say I doubt it.

In the business we are in – we could probably fill 10 times the upgraded Internet connection that we are looking at.

The SMB Takeaway

As business managers in the SMB space, when it comes to your technology infrastructure, there is rarely a silver bullet.

You can determine your cost vs. benefit for the increments that make the most sense to you.

But don’t let your IT staff or supplier claim that it will be a magic fix.

Always keep a little doubt. I do.

You can subscribe to this blog by clicking the RSS icon on the Home Page!

Leave a Reply

