The Black Swan: A Question

May 8, 2009

I just started reading The Black Swan by Nassim Nicholas Teleb – just a few chapters into the text, so this is not a review.

However!

The book is acclaimed as a New York Times Best Seller.

Being a best seller implies many, many copies sold. (In Dr. Taleb’s own words; very scalable!)

Now I am not a MENSA genius by any stretch, and I qualify as at least gifted with average intelligence.

That being stated, in the first couple of chapters and prologue of this book I had to grab a dictionary a couple of times 🙂

Which brings me to my question;

a) Did every MENSA member on the planet purchase this text?

b) Or does this book join Stephen Hawking’s A Brief History Of Time as millions of copies sold – most never read ? (or finished!)

I just started reading The Black Swan by Nassim Nicholas Teleb – just a few chapters into the text, so this is not a review.
However!
The book is acclaimed as a New York Times Best Seller.
Being a best seller implies many, many copies sold. (In Dr. Taleb’s own words; very scalable!)
Now I am not a MENSA genius by any stretch. My erudition is high, and I qualify as at least gifted with average intelligence.
That being stated, in the first couple of chapters and prologue of this book I had to grab a dictionary a couple of times 🙂
Which brings me to my question;
a) Did every MENSA member on the planet purchase this text?
b) Or does this book join Stephen Hawking’s A Brief History Of Time as millions of copies sold – most never read (or finished!)
2 Responses to “The Black Swan: A Question”


  1. […] The Black Swan: A Book Review I recently finished The Black Swan – The Impact of the Highly Improbable by Nassim Nicholas Taleb. Over all, an excellent book. (I introduced it with a question here) […]


Leave a Reply

