I’m Moving!

October 19, 2010

I know posts have been a little thin here! But I (finally) decided that it is time to move. Still staying on the WordPress platform, but getting it hosted rather then the generic wordpress.com.

Moving!

The moving truck is in place, just getting some DNS issues resolved.

WordPress has a new redirect feature that hopefully automatically bring everyone along with me as well. I guess I will be testing that.

Will update as soon as moving day hits.

Beat Regards and thank you!

UPDATE: I have removed the RSS button prior to the move – if you got here looking for it, my apologies, the new site should be ready soon!

Photo Credit by Stacy Lynn Baum via flickr

2 Responses to “I’m Moving!”

  1. elliotross Says:

    Hi Vaughan! & thanks for the question –

    Over the last year, this blog presented me with two opportunities to get published articles in a Canadian business periodical.

    And with that, a few people that have much more experience than I do have been preaching to me that having the wordpress.com domain vs a personal domain is similar to applying for a position using a hotmail email address. – too generic.

    The straw that convinced me to move is that wordpress.com now has a feature (paid) that will provide an Internet legal 301 redirect to a new domain – so I would not need to completely start over – I can export all content – import on my personal domain and enable the 301.

    (I will be doing some posts after the move) but the challenges so far have been getting DNS working properly (without loop errors) And I also have to actually ‘learn’ more about wordpress as wordpress.com is incredibly excellent at hiding all complexity and just making it ‘work’.

    Regards and thank you!

  2. itorganization2017 Says:

    Elliot – I’m (and I’m sure others of your followers) interested to know why you are moving to the hosted deal. It’s something I’ve considered for some time, but have not bitten the bullet yet.

    Do tell us more – the why’s and wherefore’s, and what stumbling blocks/pleasant surprises you find.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.